FOR SURE

 

Endocrine disruptors

Endocrine disruptors (EDs) were defined in 1991 by Theo Colborn and the multi-disciplinary scientists of his "Wingspread Call". They have shown the influence of certain classes of pollutants that interfere with hormonal systems and spread in ecosystems.

In 2002, the WHO proposed an official definition: "An endocrine disruptor is a substance or a mixture of substances, which alters the functions of the endocrine system and thus induces harmful effects in an intact organism, in its offspring or in the breast. of (sub) - populations ". The European Commission confirmed this definition in November 2018.

EPs are recognized by the scientific community, but they pose unprecedented problems in risk assessment.

Their action can occur at sub/threshold doses and is often determined by associated co-factors including when the PE acts on the body. It is this fundamental uncertainty that prevents the application of the precautionary principle. 

There is in fact no scientific evaluation possible on a large scale and over a long period of time of these risks, which precisely vary undetermined co-factors.

 

Looking back about fifty years, correlations have been established between the invasive use of certain synthetic molecules in the direct or near environment (benzene in unleaded gasoline, bromine as a flame retardant , bisphenol A as packaging plastic, chlordecone as insecticide, etc.) and the occurrence of metabolic diseases directly related to hormonal dysfunction such as prostate cancer, breast cancer, delayed puberty, brain development , congenital malformations, etc.

 

The period of conception, pregnancy and infancy are critical periods when exposure to PEs can have immediate, delayed deleterious effects and can also be transferred to future generations by epigenetic modification.

FOR SURE

 

Les perturbateurs endocriniens

Les perturbateurs endocriniens (PE) ont été définis en 1991 par Theo Colborn et les scientifiques multi-disciplinaires de son « appel de Wingspread ». Ils ont mis en évidence l’influence de certaines classes de polluants qui interfèrent avec les systèmes hormonaux  et qui se propagent dans les écosystèmes.   

En 2002, l’OMS propose une définition officielle : "Un perturbateur endocrinien est une substance ou un mélange de substances, qui altère les fonctions du système endocrinien et de ce fait induit des effets néfastes dans un organisme intact, chez sa progéniture ou au sein de (sous)- populations". La Commission Européenne a confirmé cette définition en Novembre 2018.

Les PE sont reconnus par la communauté scientifique mais ils posent des problèmes inédits dans l’évaluation des risques.

Leur action peut se produire à des doses infraliminales  et elle est souvent déterminée par des co-facteurs associés dont le moment où le PE agit sur l’organisme. C’est cette incertitude fondamentale qui empêche l’application du principe de précaution. Il n’existe pas en effet d’évaluation scientifique possible à grande échelle et sur une longue durée de ces risques qui font varier avec précision des co-facteurs indéterminés.

Avec le recul d’une cinquantaine d’années, des corrélations ont pu être établies entre l’utilisation invasive de certaines molécules de synthèse dans l’environnement direct ou proche (le benzène dans l’essence sans plomb, le brome comme retardateur de flammes, le bisphénol A comme plastique d’emballage, le chlordécone comme insecticide, etc.) et  l’occurrence de maladies du métabolisme directement liées à un dysfonctionnement hormonal comme le cancer de la prostate, du sein, les retards de  puberté, de développement cérébral, les malformations congénitales, etc.

 

La période de la conception, de la grossesse et de la petite enfance sont des périodes critiques où l’exposition aux PE peut avoir des effets délétères immédiats, retardés et peuvent aussi se transférer aux générations à venir par modification épigénétique.